• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

E23-2 rudder refinishing... Epifanes/Paint/Anti-fouling

Tim C

Tim C
Hi all,

I have sanded down the old (original?) finish of my rudder and I'm working on the fifth coat of Epifanes. I'm going for the suggested eight to ten coats of Epifanes. Yes, I cut 50/50, then 25/75, and will end up at about 10/90 percent with their thinner.

It is going well, but, I am new to sailing this big of a boat and I'm wondering if I could get some suggestions as far as additional rudder finishing. Do you Anti-foul paint below the water line? Do you paint at all? Is eight or ten coats of Epifanes enough to survive being in Lake Michigan for a season?

Do you remove your rudder if you will not be sailing for a few days/weeks? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Tim

rudder painting

I just repaired a rudder - ground down to glass, repaired with glass, epoxy, then epoxy and filler, and then bottom paint right on that.... No use adding paints where all you will need is bottom paint under the water line. If you ground down to glass, then I would do a barrier coat of epoxy to Interlux 2000 etc., and the bottom paint.

Tim C

Tim C
Rudder finish

I just repaired a rudder - ground down to glass, repaired with glass, epoxy, then epoxy and filler, and then bottom paint right on that.... No use adding paints where all you will need is bottom paint under the water line. If you ground down to glass, then I would do a barrier coat of epoxy to Interlux 2000 etc., and the bottom paint.