• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Salty insight - advice on cruise

Bryissa

Member I
I have officially been granted 1 month off work this summer to plan a sailing trip. My fist mate and I are planning on taking a round trip voyage from Monterey Bay down the California Coast. We are trying to evaluate if we can comfortably go as far south as Avalon Bay and still enjoy the trip.

We have an 1981 Ericson 38 that we have been sailing for a couple of years. The farthest we have been is north to Half Moon Bay (due to lack of time) and Stillwater Cove south. I have over 6 years of navigation experience as a submarine quartermaster. We I have 2 years of sailing experience together on our E38 in Monterey Bay and San Francisco Bay. We have spent several weekend getaways anchoring in Capitola, Monterey, Aptos, and a weekend in Stillwater Cove.

Time off is July 16th and returning to work August 16th.

I have a couple of good California Coast Cruising guides and I'm familiar with the general voyage.

My thought:
12-14 days down...overnights in San Simeon anchorage, Morro Bay, Coho anchorage, 2-3 Catalina island stops, Two Harbors, Avalon Bay

7-10 Days around Catalina Island possibly checking out other anchorages

6-7 days uphill....pretty straight shot with some overnight motoring and short stays

Please provide any insights, personal experiences, and your opinion if this is enough time to make the voyage that far south. We are looking to make no overnight sailing on the way down, and willing to motor/sail some night on the return.

Also for all you lucky people that are not tied down with work...we would love some company to join us down the coast (bring your own boat, booze, and food).

Thanks

Bryan Ellis