• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Wind in Long Beach / Wilmington vs Dana Point

tdskip

Member II
Hi folks - I have a 25+ that I'm not using because I've found the wind in the Dana Point area where I keep her to be, lousy. Now I'll be the first to admit that I'm still a newbie, and my light air skills are probably marginal. That said every time I sailed with friends out of the Long Beach area we always had decent wind.

I'm debating moving her back up to Long Beach but it seemed like a good idea to ask if in fact the wind is more reliable up there or if I'm simply being delusional...

Thanks in advance for any feedback or coaching!

Sven

Seglare
If you are talking about Hurricane Gulch outside Cabrillo (San Pedro) then you will indeed get more wind than some other places.

-Sven

tdskip

Member II
Hi Sven, thanks for the fast response.

I was thinking of moving her to one of the Wilmington marina's ASAP to try and actually get some sailing in. Slips are available, they are cheap, and while perhaps not quite as picturesque as Dana Point at least that would give me a better shot at turning her outboard off.

Is getting around in the channel with the commercial traffic an issue?

Any tips or suggestions for me?

Thank you very much for the help and coaching.

Sven

Seglare
We haven't had any commercial traffic issues but we usually don't stick around, just head out Angeles Gate and leave for a few days. Jeff, Mike, Meanolddad, or ... could probably give you a better feel for what it is like to sail inside the breakwater.

-Sven

Jeff Asbury

Principal Partner