• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Racing an Ericson 27

I've been sailing and racing the same Ericson 27 for 27 years now. The boat is 30 years old this year. Mine is the outboard model, with the motor in a cutout in the stern.
I have found that my boat is very weight sensitive, particularly with weight in the stern. In the class I race in, the outboard has to be kept in place, not removed and stored down below for better weight distribution. To counter that outboard's weight, I store all my sails in the forepeak. I have adjusted the port/starboard weight so that it is equal. Fore and aft, the boat is on her lines.
In racing, with two people in the cockpit, we put no weight aft of the winches, original Barlows. My boat carries a vang, backstay adjuster and a Cunningham. We adjust halyard tension when necessary. Bottom is almost always clean. The boat is raced with a full crusing complement...cushions, refrigeration, stove, all the extra gear, including food. I can add ice and go cruising for a week. The food (and beer) is already on board.
My 27 rates 225 in non-spinnaker and 240 in true cruising. It sure makes people with bigger, faster boats a little taut to see us finish 15 minutes ahead of them in real time.
My 155 gennie is about three years old. The main is 12 years old. Also carry a 30-year-old working jib, a storm jib and a cruising chute.
If you race your 27, you are racing a winner!

Racing a 26

I can't see where the two would be much different. What works for me should work for you. But, god, you have to pay attention to the little stuff. I have been racing my boat, on and off, for 27 years, so time on the boat counts for something.

More on racing an E-27