• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Help climbing the mast (1st time)

Mikebat

Member III
I need to climb my mast. I got a bunch of things I need to do aloft, but I've never done this before. The boat has a bosun's chair in a storage locker, never used it, don't know how to do so safely. Is there someone in the San Pedro area who could give me a hand? Jeff?

Jeff Asbury

Principal Partner
At your service Mike, I just got a nice set of Falls (Block & Tackle) put together. I also have a very good Bosun's Chair.

I recently went up, and tapped the spreaders on my E-27 and a Friend's Catalina 27. We could do it this weekend if you like.

I'll send you a back channel message.

Jeff

Jeff Asbury

Principal Partner
Hi Greg,

Thanks for the offer, I actually prefer to have two guys help with the hoisting. One to do the hoisting and another behind with the end of the line around a dock cleat slowing paying it out. This system works very well. My rig is a 3 to 1 purchase. 4 to 1 would be a easy hoist, but it's more complicated.

We just need to hear back from Mike. It would be great to finally meet you Greg.

Jeff

Glyn Judson

Climbing the mast.

Jeff, Make sure to have a second halyard attached to the D-ring of the chair as a safety back-up. I have actually seen video footage of an unexpected parting of the primary line with the second one saving the guy from falling to the deck or maybe even worse, the small of his back ending up o the boom. Go for it, Glyn Judson, E31 hull #55, Marina del Rey, CA

Jeff Asbury

Principal Partner
Sounds good Mike. I recommend doing it in the AM before the wind kicks up. Look forward to seeing you again.

Jeff

Mindscape

Member III
Climbing the Mast