• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Florida to Cuba trips

Roger Ware

Member III
Someone on this list knows the answer to this, I am sure. What is the current legality of a US registered boat and US skipper making a (strictly tourist) trip from Florida to Cuba? How about a Canadian crew in the same (US registered) boat? How about a Canadian crew in a Canadian reg'd boat?

Thanks a lot
Roger Ware
Kingston, ON

gareth harris

Sustaining Member
I am no lawyer, but there was a lot of discussion of the subject in the Gulf boating newspaper during the years I was there, which was until 2004, and I doubt it has changed since then.

US law has no provision against travel to any other country. But boaters who went there were charged on their return with breaking the embargo, on the grounds that they had spent US dollars in Cuba. There was even one race to Havana from Florida where the organisers got legal advice that they should be OK, but customs walked up and down the dock, just before the boats set sail, handing out notices that there would be dire consequences for any sailors who participated. Several were charged with offences when they got back, which they could not afford to defend. It was highly controversial, and had never been tested in court - there was talk that such a restriction violated constitutional rights, but any such decision would be taken by the government to the supreme court, and no boaters had the money for that kind of campaign.

Morgan may be able to add more, he only went there after receiving special permission as a journalist (the trip is a great story when he tells it).