• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Sailing from Channel Islands Harbor to Marina del Rey?

mrbarnard

'72 E-29 in sweet condition
New to the forum.

And, I'm a newbie sailor (sailed a little, many years ago) and last week bought a sailboat, a 1972 Ericson 29. It's in Channel Islands Harbor, and I eventually need to have it in Marina del Rey or Redondo Beach.

I'll have to find someone to help me (and my sons, one of whom has some sailing experience) bring the boat down to L.A.

Since this is all new to me, I wonder if anyone here has made an excursion from Channel Islands to Los Angeles and if you have anything to share about such a trip. I don't even know how to estimate how long it will take (although I guess 5 knots per hour would be a reference point, and the ports are 50 miles apart, so it will take an entire day, over 10 hours, I think).

And if anyone knows of any slips available in either Marina del Rey or Redondo Beach, please let me know (especially if there are any liveaboard slips...).

Thanks.

Attachments

• sailboat.jpg
    sailboat.jpg
    74.4 KB · Views: 2,250

bigtyme805

Member III
Mr Barnard,

I could go with you if you like. I have made the trip half dozen times very easy trip.

My choice would be Marina Del Rey, but you will have to call some of the marinas and see if they have availability. I think Marina Del Rey has some slips available, I remember seeing something in the Log about that.

I am sure someone on the forum might know that answer.

Call me when you know anything. 805-636-5064

King Harbor is nice also, but don't know availability for slips.

Did you have the rigging and engine looked over before you make this trip?