• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

How much is too much

treilley

Sustaining Partner
I am beginning to play with the backstay adjuster on my E35-III. It has a gauge that reads in thousands of lbs. It is set at 1000 now. How much tension is too much and may damage something?

This is all in preparation for some club racing. I was very sucessful on my '76 Pearson 28 but there is a guy with an E34 with the same rating wanting to see how I do on this boat. Of course, I am just learning the boat and he has had his for 20 years.

NateHanson

Sustaining Member
I don't have an answer that's specific to your model, but on other boats (similar size range) I've been told that 2500 psi is a good upper limit.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
How much?

Our boat came with a Navtec and I replaced it with a Sailtec integral backstay adjuster.
I relax mine at the dock -- couple hundred pounds to keep it snug. Heading out for a sail we bring it to around a thou and for going upwind pump it up to 15 or 1800. Going over 2K will put some bend in our mast, but not much, and I feel like it is overkill. Our main is not cut to take any particular advantage of mast bend, in any case.
I also relax the furling genny halyard at the dock, and sock it up tight when heading out.
My .02 worth,
YMMV,

Loren

Seth

Sustaining Partner
Yupyup

Loren nails it again...

Some rules of thumb:

At the dock, keep the genny halyard slightly eased, and keep enough tension on the backstay so the rig does not bounce around in motorboat wakes, etc. This should not require more than about 500 lbs-but whatever it is, you want the rig steady while at rest. Having it flopping around causes wear on all of the components.