• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ericson 29 tuning guide

jamescio

Member II
Does anyone have (even if unofficial) the Loos tension gauge specs for the Ericson 29. I know about keeping the boat in column and all that...I am trying to get specific ratings. Thanks Jim

Randy Rutledge

Sustaining Member
Someone please answer this question I need to know the answer. Also on a 29T how much if any does raking the mast back help pointing. My mast has about 4" rake and the specs indicate 9"rake????? I have a manageable degree of weather helm in even in high air ( I know more rake would add WH)

HELP

Dave G

Member II
E29 Mast Tunning

My Loos gauge is on my boat and I'm not. If I remeber correctly the Loos gauage has recommendiation for tunning based on the wire size of the rig.

Dave Green
E29 Spirit

Seth

Sustaining Partner
Okokok

I was with my son at the 2nd Yankees Game-just got back last night.

Here is the deal-Yes-adding some rake WILL help your pointing. You do this by easing the HS and taking up the same amount on BS-then check rake by hanging a weight on the main halyard and see how far aft of the center of the mast it is. If you have 4" now and have no probs with WH, then add maybe 3" to start, and see how it goes. Another good way to tell if the rake is in the ballpark is to go sailing in say 5-8 knots of breeze. Trim for upwind sailing (rig reasonably tuned, sails correctly trimmed, and crew and gear weight in reasonable places-NOT excessive bow or stern weight-close to the middle as is reasonable for you).