• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Anyone Ever Use the ATN Tacker?

J. Barthelmass

I've been singlehanding my E-29 for ten years, and began racing in singlehanded races last year. I'd like to use the symmetrical spinnakers that I have, but managing the pole while singlehanded is a tough task.
ATN makes a product called the Tacker, which wraps around a furled headsail and connects to the tack of the spinnaker - eliminating the need for a pole. I know some of the drawbacks, not being able to sail as low downwind, etc. but wonder if anyone out there have any actual experience with the product?
I'm looking for some feedback before shelling out the $$.

Thanks!

Hi,
It's my understanding and it has been my experience--I have owned an asym for 20+ years--that these sails are designed NOT to be used with a pole. I owned one of the first Flashers, which died after a lot of abuse over time. A year ago, I got Quantum asym. This sail is much different from the Flasher. It is bigger, has much larger shoulders and could be, if I wanted to, sailed very low, lower than the Flasher. On the other hand, it is my understanding that these sails are designed NOT to be sailed like a spinnaker. What you may lose in not being able to sail directly downwind you more than gain in additional speed.