• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Boat Shoes

Pat O'Connell

Member III
Hi Respected Sailors.... Any suggestions on a good boat shoe? I have been using Nike Air Monarchs for a few years and the price is right at about $45. Need a shoe/sneaker that I can hike when ashore too. Typical three or four hole shoes do not have very much support. The Leather Air Monarchs last for about a year then the soles harden up just a little and they get frisky on wet decks or after bailing out the old Avon. Discovered my last pair in the clearance section soo they may not be there next year? Any good products work for you?
Best Regards
Pat
1981 E28+ Universal 5411

Slick470

Member III
For the goal of hiking ashore and for use on the boat, I'd recommend heading over to your local REI or equivalent and look at what they call "water shoes" and find one with lots of ventilation and a somewhat aggressive sole for traction on and off the boat. Most of the ones that meet those requirements have plenty of support for anything short of backpacking.

Keen is a brand I see a lot on boats that has a line of shoes that would probably meet your needs. http://www.keenfootwear.com/water/f/men/

I have a pair of Teva water shoes that lasted a long time until the soles finally started separating. It doesn't look like they make that one anymore, but it was also a good option. This appears to be their latest equivalent http://www.teva.com/men-shoes/omniu...&prefv1=Water+Friendly&start=1&cgid=men-shoes

Pat O'Connell

Member III
Hi Andy