• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Observations

mggrave

I would first like to thank everyone that posts on this site, it has been a very benificial tool for me. I am relatively new to sailing and just bought my first monohaul sailboat a 1974 Ericson 32-2 Havoc a good project boat.

This site has really helped me in fixing the boat, so far I have replaced most of the components of the yacht specialties steering assembly, fixed a compression problem with my mast, and started on leaking deck objects. One thing I decided to do differently from the post on compression fixes was I mounted a household screw jack next to my compression post. I found that due to the mast being offset that just putting a piece of aluminum above the post was not enough (or at least my engineering mind didn't think so). So while jacking it up i decided to leave my screw jack in, I am going to frame/trim out the area next to the compression post. The downside is now I need to modify my door to the V-berth. I will post pictures soon. I am currently waiting for the Marina to launch my boat hopefully before the end of the day so I can use it this weekend and hopefully without any suprises.