• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

The younger generation

I am new to sailing and have recently started posting here. I bought an Ericson 27 that is in need of some TLC and am having the best time getting into the whole sailing scene.
One thing I find disturbing is the lack of younger people (I am 31) who are interested in sailing. Most of my friends don't have any interest, or they think they wouldn't want to "work" to head on the water. They would prefer to motor out, drink, fish and then head home. Though I do enjoy the beers/fishing I find sailing to be a hobby that is full of rewards!
I went down to a yacht club recently to see about being around like-minded individuals. Though I did enjoy the group I didn't seem to see anyone even remotely near my age. There were a few "grandchildren" running around but besides that it only seemed to be retirees and some live-aboard types. Like I said I enjoyed their company and don't have any age bias but I was disappointed that there weren't more people around mine own age. My wife and I have just had a baby and we are going to get her started young and hopefully we can pass on the passion...
I am thinking there ought to be more of an effort to get more people interested in sailing. Maybe have discover sailing days for the 20-30 something groups. If nothing else I am planning to share what I find with my friends and hopefully get more of us on the water!

ref_123

Member III
Issue with sampling?