1977 Ericson 27

Joe M

Member I
Hi all

I am new to sailing and shopping for my first boat for the past several months. today I checked out an E 27 1977 which was very clean with a new rebuilt deisel, fuel tank and heat exchanger. the boat is lacking an "evicerator" and I'm a bit concerned about the functionalithy of the ancohor chain and rode storage, as the entry hole is rather narrow. Interested to hear if adding the evicerator is an east/difficut/expensive project and also if hauling in and storing the ancohor (especially in chop) is toublesome or not. Also, have blisters been an issue with the E 27s? I do plan on having a survey before closing.

thanks
Joe

tenders

Innocent Bystander
Do you mean "macerator," a chopping device on an electric head, or "windlass," an electrical device that helps haul up an anchor?

Neither are necessary.

Joe M

Member I
Macerattor and anchor rode

Yes sorry I meant the macerator. The owner informs me one can be installed. The holding tank is under the v berth and I don't know enough about the boats layout to determine if that makes a difference or not. As to the storage for the chain and rode the design just seems awkward but the owner reports he has never had any difficulties.Thanks for your response.Joe

Mark F

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author
Hi Joe,

Welcome. Why are you thinking about a macerator? I think you would only use it to empty the holding tank at sea. If you are thinking about sailing mostly in the Bay you won't be using it. Hopefully other E27 owners will chime in on anchor management. I have no access to the "chain locker" from the deck so I stow the anchor, chain and rode in the lazarette and haul it out when needed.

Glyn Judson

Fitting a macerator or how to plumb your head system.