Deep cycle or dual purpose batteries?

peaman

Sustaining Member
I’m not too experienced with 12v systems but have been poking around the E27 battery system lately and the setup for two batteries is the same: direct negative-to-negative connection between the batteries and the positive wires both lead to the selector switch.

it’s not an indication of anything other than precedence but was somewhat wondering the same thing.

it makes some sense - the selector switch sort of acts like a relay allowing the batteries to operate in parallel or individually. If the two ground/negative posts are permanently connected it should still allow the batteries to operate individually or in parallel.

just taking a stab at this since it’s fresh in my mind but would love to be corrected if wrong
Generally, on boats, you will find all negative conductors connected always. So what happens on the +12V side is pretty much all that matters.

Commonly, boats with simple wiring will have a multi-position switch which has an "input" from each battery or battery bank, and which has output to the DC panel. The batteries (or battery banks) may be selected from: None, Bat1, Bat2, Bat1+Bat2. Also, and importantly, the engine alternator output is commonly connected to the "output" terminal of the battery switch.

The common scheme requires that you consider the state of your batteries, and to consider that what comes out (whether for starting the engine or for powering accessories) must be put back in eventually. and it is that awareness that will guide your use of the multi-position battery selector switch. An electronic battery monitor such as THIS ONE can be really useful for keeping you battery banks charged and balanced.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
+1 for battery monitor such as the Victron above.

Setup calls for a little thought, but worth it. Genius not required.

peaman

Sustaining Member